January 5, 2017

CPCS Cards

What is the CPCS Card Scheme?

The Construction Plant Competence Scheme (CPCS) is a card scheme which proves the skills and competency of plant operators. It is the largest and most highly recognised card scheme for the plant industry.

The blue CPCS card lasts the holder for five years. The red CPCS ‘trained operator’ card lasts for either three years or one year (depending on when it was issued) and can be used whilst the holder is working towards the blue card.

What are the steps to achieving a CPCS card?

To obtain a CPCS card or, an upgrade you must:

  • Pass the ConstructionSkills Health and Safety test required for the card (if not passed in the last two years),
  • Hold an NVQ in the competence required for your item of plant.
  • Carry out any training necessary to bring the operator up to the standard required to pass the CPCS Technical test. Training will be tailored to meet individual requirements and based on a CPCS training syllabus,
  • Pass the CPCS Theory test,
  • Pass the CPCS Practical test.

Once you or your employees have completed the above, the correct card can be applied for.

How we can help

We can assist you/your employees with the CPCS process or with any of the individual requirements needed to achieve and obtain the CPCS card. Please note that construction companies may be eligible for grants to fund training, please contact us for further details.


Contact us to discuss how we can help you to achieve full CPCS card scheme compliance for you/your employees.